What Is A Four Point Inspection?

Are you curious to know what is a four point inspection? You have come to the right place as I am going to tell you everything about a four point inspection in a very simple explanation. Without further discussion let’s begin to know what is a four point inspection?

When it comes to buying or insuring a home, safety is a top priority. A four-point inspection is a vital tool in ensuring the structural integrity and safety of a property. This detailed examination focuses on four critical systems of a house: the roof, electrical, plumbing, and HVAC (heating, ventilation, and air conditioning). In this blog, we’ll delve into what a four-point inspection is, why it’s essential, and when and how to get one.

What Is A Four Point Inspection?

A four-point inspection is a specialized assessment of four key components of a residential property. It is typically required by insurance companies when homeowners apply for insurance policies, especially for older homes. The inspection provides a snapshot of the condition and safety of the following systems:

  1. Roof: The inspector examines the roof’s covering material, structure, and any signs of damage, wear, or leaks. This includes evaluating the age and condition of the roofing materials.
  2. Electrical: The electrical system is thoroughly inspected, checking for any outdated wiring, unsafe connections, and potential fire hazards. The inspector ensures that the electrical panel and wiring are up to code.
  3. Plumbing: The plumbing assessment focuses on identifying leaks, corrosion, and overall system condition. It includes examining water heaters, pipes, fixtures, and the presence of any safety hazards.
  4. HVAC (Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning): The heating and cooling systems are assessed for their functionality, condition, and safety. This includes inspecting the furnace, air conditioner, ductwork, and ensuring proper ventilation.

The Importance Of A Four-Point Inspection

  1. Insurance Requirement: Insurance companies use four-point inspections to assess the risk associated with insuring a property. Older homes, in particular, may have outdated or unsafe systems, which can lead to a higher insurance risk.
  2. Safety Assurance: A four-point inspection helps ensure that essential systems in a home are safe and in good working order. This is crucial for the well-being of the residents.
  3. Preventive Maintenance: The inspection can identify issues before they become costly problems, allowing homeowners to address them proactively.
  4. Cost Savings: Identifying and rectifying potential hazards early can prevent costly repairs and claims in the future.
  5. Property Value: A well-maintained home with a positive four-point inspection report can potentially have a higher market value.

When To Get A Four-Point Inspection?

  1. Home Insurance Application: If you’re applying for a homeowner’s insurance policy, your insurance company may require a four-point inspection. This is often the case for older homes or properties with unknown or unverified system conditions.
  2. Property Purchase: When buying an older home, consider getting a four-point inspection as part of your due diligence to assess the condition of the property’s critical systems.
  3. Periodic Assessment: Even if not required, homeowners may opt for periodic four-point inspections to ensure the continued safety and functionality of their property’s key systems.

Learn about many such interesting topics on doesaz.

How To Get A Four-Point Inspection?

Getting a four-point inspection is relatively straightforward:

  1. Select a Qualified Inspector: Choose a certified and experienced home inspector who specializes in four-point inspections.
  2. Schedule the Inspection: Contact the inspector to schedule a convenient date and time for the assessment.
  3. Prepare the Property: Ensure access to all the areas the inspector needs to assess, including the attic, basement, crawl spaces, and utility areas.
  4. Receive the Report: After the inspection, you’ll receive a detailed report outlining the condition of the roof, electrical, plumbing, and HVAC systems. If issues are identified, you may need to address them before obtaining or renewing your insurance policy.


A four-point inspection is a valuable tool for assessing the safety and condition of critical systems in a home. It not only helps insurance companies determine the risk associated with insuring a property but also ensures the safety and well-being of homeowners. Whether you’re purchasing a new home or renewing your insurance policy, a four-point inspection can provide peace of mind and potentially save you from costly repairs and hazards in the future.


What Will Fail A 4-Point Inspection In Florida?

4-point inspections are an effective way of giving your insurance company a complete picture of the condition of your home. Inspection failures often come from plumbing, electrical, roof, and HVAC problems, so it’s important to be aware of the common issues.

How Much Does A 4-Point Inspection Cost In Florida?

The typical 4-point inspection cost is around $125 dollars for our service areas. These inspections are usually conducted at the request of the insurance provider for homes more than 30 years old, although each company has their own criteria.

Who Can Complete A 4-Point Inspection In Florida?

Who Can Complete a 4-Point Inspection in Florida? Only professionals licensed in the state of Florida may complete a 4-point inspection. According to InterNACHI, this professional may be a building code inspector, an architect, an engineer, a building contractor, or a home inspector.

When Did 4-Point Inspection Start In Florida?

Four-point home insurance inspections were introduced after Hurricane Andrew in 1992. This Category 5 hurricane devastated south Florida. The storm destroyed over 25,000 homes and damaged over 101,000 more, leaving hundreds of thousands of people homeless.

I Have Covered All The Following Queries And Topics In The Above Article

What Is A Four Point Home Inspection

What Is A Four-Point Home Inspection

What Is A Four Point Inspection In Florida

What Is A Four-Point Inspection

What Is A Four Point Inspection